Eurointernational confirms Malaysian Tan Wei Ron for 2012 JK Racing Asia Series

PDF Print E-mail

2011 JK Racing Asia Series Team Champions, Eurointernational, has announced the confirmation of driver Tan Wei Ron for the 2012 JK Racing Asia Series (formerly known as Formula BMW).

The 17-year old Malaysian from Kuala Lumpur will run the full schedule of the 2012 JKRAS after an impressive debut with Eurointernational at Sepang during the 2011 season finale. Tan, who was competing in open wheel cars for the first time, finished fourth twice.

After a winning history in the Asia Karting Championships, Tan participated in the 2010 PFX Formula BMW School in Sepang, won the 2011 Lotus Super Cup Asia and the 2011 Renault Megane ES Series in Malaysia.

“Wei Ron was impressive in his debut at Sepang” said Team Principal, Antonio Ferrari. “And since then, we have been working hard to make the 2012 JKRAS season together.

“We have scheduled an intensive testing program for Wei Ron in Asia and Europe to prepare in the best way possible. Our engineer, Nicola Sgotto will focus only on our Asian programs, heading our Malaysian operation near Sepang, with an increased effort in our entire JKRAS plans.

“I believe 2012 will be a very competitive year in JK Racing Asia Series” said Tan. “Running with the most experienced Team, Eurointernational, will definitely help me develop further in technical knowledge and race craft.

“The members of the Team are great people to work with. I will also be studying at INTO City University in London so I hope to do well in my exams as well as win the 2012 JKRAS Championship!”

Tan’s Eurointernational JKRAS car will be sponsored, among others, by Air Asia and Iterna.

Eurointernational will run up to 4 cars in the 2012 JKRAS, with 4 more cars available in Asia and Europe for selected races, offering drivers the possibility to test all year round, beginning in Sepang on Jan 16th to 18th, where Tan will start his test program.

Eurointernational is the 2011 Team Champion, Driver's Overall & Rookie Champion, with Lucas Auer, in the JKRAS. The team also has the biggest achievement in Formula BMW history worldwide collecting 72 wins, 92 podiums, 88 poles in 154 races competed, winning 6 Team Championships, 6 Overall Drivers Championships, 3 Rookie Cup and the last World Final.

Prepared by

Share this post

Joomla template by